Traditional Christmas Desserts… Sort Of

As part of our 25 Days of Christmas I’m trying out two new traditional Christmas recipes – fruitcake and plum pudding. These are not the traditional recipes, I would have had to start those about a month or more ago, and being the procrastinator that I am, that didn’t happen. Also, the traditional recipes are made with things like candied fruits, citron, and alcohol; and I’m only guessing here, but I think the combining of these ingredients may be the reason most people don’t like them. I like fruitcake (I know, I know – strange), but I wanted to make something everyone would eat, because after all, I don’t want to eat it all myself. The plum pudding recipe is absolutely nothing like the traditional, it’s more of a bread pudding made with plums, and it is so delicious that the oldest boy Crazy had two servings and he probably would have eaten more. So, without further ado…

Boiled Fruitcake

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ C. mixed dried fruit (I used golden raisins, craisins, and chopped dates)
  • ½ C. unsalted butter
  • ½ C. light brown sugar
  • 2/3 C. strong black tea (I actually used a rooibos)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 c. or 125 g. self-rising flour

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350*F.
  • In a sauce pan cook dried fruit, butter, sugar and tea over med-high heat.
  • Bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes.
  • Remove from stove and allow to cool.
  • Stir in egg and flour.
  • Pour into a greased 1 lb. loaf pan.
  • Bake 1 ½ hours.

This is a super easy recipe; however, I almost made it into a great big disaster. Friday I came down with my annual Christmas cold and it has settled itself in my head, making everything cloudy. Anyways, when I added the butter I cut one cube in half making it only ¼ c. of butter. I caught my mistake after I simmered it for 20 minutes, so I just added the other ¼ C. to the boiled mixture which actually helped to cool it down quicker. Then my next big ut-oh was with the egg – I mixed everything together put it in the baking pan and set it in the oven to bake. I was cleaning up and thinking to myself, “Boy it’s strange that the recipe didn’t call for an egg”. Well, sure enough, I went back to the recipe and there it was -1 egg, beaten. So, I yanked that pan out of the oven and added the egg. Luckily, it had only been about 1 minute since I put it in, and all was fine.

Plum Pudding

Ingredients

  • 20 slices white sandwich bread, crust removed
  • 2 (15oz) cans purple plums
  • 2 C. golden raisins
  • 1 ½ C. granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 C. butter, melted (that’s 2 sticks, for those of us with head colds)
  • 7 large eggs
  • 2 C. heavy cream
  • Nutmeg

Directions

  • Grease and flour a Bundt pan.
  • Divide bread into 3 stacked piles (7, 7, and 6).
  • Cut each stack into 4 squares (just make a + in your stack).
  • Arrange the small squares from your first stack in your pan, covering the bottom.
  • Pit and slice open about 10 plums, then place cut side down on top of bread.
  • Spread 1 C. of raisins over plums.
  • Mix ½ C. sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon and sprinkle over pan contents.
  • Pour ½ C. butter over everything in the pan.
  • Repeat all of the above steps 1 more time.
  • Finally, press last stack of bread into pan.
  • Sprinkle ½ C. sugar over bread.
  • In a mixing bowl, beat all the eggs and then mix in all the cream.
  • Place Bundt pan onto a cookie sheet and slowly pour egg mixture into your Bundt pan. (Don’t rush, allow mixture to sink into bread)
  • Sprinkle with nutmeg.
  • Let it all sit for about 30 minutes.
  • Heat oven to 350*F, then bake for 70 minutes.

When this is all finished it will look like a fancy bread pudding. Serve it warm with hard or light sauce, or vanilla ice cream. It is mmm-yummy.

I know these recipes are nothing like the traditional ones, but they’re something most people WILL eat and they don’t take a month to make. You can make and eat these all in the same day, and you can tell yourself, you are having a little bit of Christmas past.

Enjoy!

About littlehouseonthepond

Welcome to Little House On the Pond, you can call me Heidi. I am a daughter of The King. I'm married and I'm mommy to three great kids. I spend a lot of time in the kitchen- cooking & baking, I garden, I do crafts, and I read a lot. I'm living this great adventure called life and would love for you to come along for the ride.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.