Courage To Believe

As a Christian, when I read this morning’s headline, I have to admit I was upset. I am talking about our president’s change of mind in his views about same-sex marriage. I suppose he could just be evolving in his way of thinking, as he claims, my guess is it was a campaign move. I think what upset me most was not President Obama’s change of mind but reading the comments of people congratulating the president on his courage and insulting Christians for what we believe. Many of the comments call Christians “old-fashioned”, “out of touch”, “narrow-minded”, “bigots” and much more – nothing new to me, I’ve been called these names before; but I ask-

 Doesn’t it take courage to stand by your convictions wholeheartedly?

Real Christians believe wholeheartedly that the Bible is 100% true and that it is the Word of God.

  • In the Old Testament it states that marriage is meant to be between a man and a woman. Genesis 2:24 (NIV1984) For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.
  • New Testament states this too:                                                                                                               1 Corinthians 7:2(NIV1984) But since there is so much immorality, each man should have his own wife and each woman her own husband.

Let me just state for the record, I am not judging anyone, only God can do that.                Matthew 7:1-2 (NIV1984) “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

I am just stating that I believe the Holy Bible to be 100% true. I accept every word written in it, I do not just choose the parts that appeal to me. If this makes me narrow-minded, old-fashioned, and a bigot I guess I am. But this is a belief I am willing to die for. I wonder if everyone calling me (and other Christians) these names is just as willing to die for their belief.

I was once told by someone that if I could not tell them their way of thinking was ok, I could not be part of their life. This really saddened me, because in order for me to be part of their life they wanted me to give up what I believed. I understand that not everyone thinks as I do, I understand that not everyone has my same beliefs. This does not mean I “hold blindly and intolerantly to a particular creed or opinion” (the definition of a bigot). This means I have courage of convictions.

I know there are people out there who call themselves Christians who are very judgmental and the Bible states they will have to make account for their actions. But also know that the vast majority of Christians, who share their faith, do it because we care, and because we were commissioned to (Matthew 28:19-20), not because we are judging. We believe Acts 4:10-12 … I’ll be completely frank with you—we have nothing to hide. By the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, the One you killed on a cross, the One God raised from the dead, by means of his name this man stands before you healthy and whole. Jesus is ‘the stone you masons threw out, which is now the cornerstone.’ Salvation comes no other way; no other name has been or will be given to us by which we can be saved, only this one.”

Each of us has to choose for ourselves what we will believe. I believe the Bible to be true

– EVERY WORD OF IT –

My not straying from that belief doesn’t make me a bigot, it makes me courageous.

I stand by what I believe.

About littlehouseonthepond

Welcome to Little House On the Pond, you can call me Heidi. I am a daughter of The King. I'm married and I'm mommy to three great kids. I spend a lot of time in the kitchen- cooking & baking, I garden, I do crafts, and I read a lot. I'm living this great adventure called life and would love for you to come along for the ride.
This entry was posted in Wisdom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.